Women of Excellence


Presentation of the 7th Annual Woman of Excellence Award

The 2022 Women of Excellence reception will take place following the Leadership Seminar Series in the Algonquin room at the 123rd Annual Spring Scientific Convention. The reception will feature dessert and wine, with a program that will include the presentation of the 7th Annual Women of Excellence award.

The Women of Excellence award is given on an annual basis by the MOA to recognize a female osteopathic physician who has provided exemplary leadership in the field of medicine.

Women of Excellence 2021

Congratulations to Mary Jo Voelpel, DO, FACOI, FACNM for earning the title of  the 2021 Women of Excellence! The MOA is pleased to present her with this well deserving award. Dr. Voelpel obtained her medical degree from the Michigan State College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1975. Dr. Voelpel has been actively involved with the MOA since 1981 including serving as the Parliamentarian for many years during the MOA House of Delegates. She also received Life Professional membership this year.

Dr. Voelpel continues to be a pillar of the community paving the way for female physicians. Here is the award acceptance video:

The MOA wishes Dr. Voelpel the best of luck as she continues her career.


Past Award Recipients:

2021: Mary Jo Voelpel, DO, FACOI, FACNM

2020: Kari Hortos, DO

2019: Kathleen Rollinger, DO

2018: Myral Robbins, DO, FAAFP, FACOFP

2017: Carol Monson, DO

2016: Dorothy Carnegie, DO